2 days / 60 speakers
Be inspired

26 – 27 June 2019

Speakers 2018

Our exciting line-up of speakers for the Buckingham Festival of Higher Education 2018 will tackle a diverse range of topics, from the importance of freedom of speech in higher education, to teaching standards and artificial intelligence!

Sir Anthony Seldon

Vice-Chancellor, University of Buckingham.
Author, political commentator and contemporary historian.
Samuel Gyimah – UK Parliament official portraits 2017

Sam Gyimah

Minister for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation

Mary Curnock Cook

Former Chief Executive of UCAS and Strategic Advisor to the University of Buckingham

Sir Michael Barber

Founder and Chairman of Delivery Associates and Chair of the Office for Students

Nick Hillman

Director of HEPI

Shakira Martin

President of the NUS

Professor Damien Page

Dean of The Carnegie School of Education

Geoff Barton

General Secretary of ASCL

Sir Kevan Collins

Chief Executive of the Education Endowment Foundation

John Yarham

Chief Executive of Futures

Claudia Harris

Chief Executive of The Careers & Enterprise Company

Mathew Taylor

Chief Executive of the RSA

Ryan Craig

Managing Director of University Ventures

Lord David Willetts

Executive Chair of Resolution Foundation

Catherine Roche

Chief Executive of Place2Be

Julian Astle

Director of Education, RSA

Ant Bagshaw

Deputy CEO of Wonkhe

Dr Jo Pearson

Head of the Oldham Research School and Teamworks Teaching School Alliance

David Goodhart

Head of Demography Unit at Policy Exchange & Founder of Prospect Magazine

Smita Jamdar

Head of Education, Shakespeare Martineau

Claire Fox

Academy of Ideas Director

Dr Nicola Rollock

Reader in Equity & Education, Goldsmiths University

Jim Dickinson

Chief of Staff, UEASU

Professor Becky Francis

Director, UCL Institute of Education (IOE)

Masa Popovac

Lecturer in Psychology, University of Buckingham

Nancy Tucker

Author: The Mental Health challenge facing British Universities

Tom Middlehurst

Head of Policy and Public Affairs at SSAT

Stephen Tierney

Chair of Head teachers, RoundTable Group

Dr Julie Nelson

Senior Research Manager at the National Foundation for Educational Research (NFER)

Dr Ann Limb

Educationalist, Business Leader and Social Entrepreneur

Duncan Piper

Director of the Dyson Institute of Engineering and Technology

Chris Ramsey

Headmaster of Whitgift School

Andrew Adonis

Former Chair of the National Infrastructure Commission, Author and Campaigner
1204 UofE Exec Team

Professor Janice Kay

Provost and Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Exeter

John Claughton

Former Chief Master, King Edward’s School

Sonia Sodha

Chief Leader Writer, Observer

Barnaby Lenon

Former Headmaster, Harrow School & Chairman, Independent Schools Council

Carl Cullinane

Research and Policy Manager, Sutton Trust

Mark Huntington

Managing Director, A Star Future

Clare Marchant

Chief Executive, UCAS

Chris Payne

Head of Academic Services, University of Buckingham

Ellen Wilson

Vice President Higher Education Services, Pearson

Adam Goodsearles

Capability and Learning Lead for Group HR, BT

Josie Cluer

Director, People Advisory Services and Education Lead, EY

James Emmett

Director of Apprenticeships, Pearson

Dr Peter Foltz

Vice President Research, Advanced Computing and Data Science

Joanna Williams

Author, commentator and the education editor of Spiked

Richard Brooks

Education & Employment Manage, Step Up To Serve

Bill Watkin

Chief Executive, Sixth Form Colleges Association

Michael Appleyard

County Councillor

James Moore

Teacher of Media and English

Sophie Ruddock

Head of Delivery Operations at WhiteHart

Rajay Naik

Chief Executive Officer (Europe) – Keypath Education UK Ltd

Peter Horrocks

Former Vice-Chancellor of The Open University

Laura McInerney

Education Journalist for Schools Week and the Guardian and co-founder of Teacher Tapp

Joan Deslandes

Head Teacher of Kingsford Community College

Andy Westwood

Vice Dean for Social Responsibility in the Faculty of Humanities


Festival of Higher Education

26- 27 June 2019